Women's Empowerment

Defunding Essential Care

Planned Parenthood has 57 independent local affiliates that operate approximately 650 health centers throughout the United States, providing high-quality services to women, men and teens.

Planned Parenthood

I was an inner city who worked my butt off to get to college, and worked even harder while in it.  I worked multiple part time jobs while studying.  But I needed to have some sort of health care.  Neither of my parents had parental rights for me and neither of them carried me on their healthcare plans.  I had to take care of myself.  I applied for medicaid.  At the age of 19 (days after my birthday), because I was getting healthcare through Medicaid, I found cervical cancer cells.  My doctor was able to catch the virus.  We immediately planned for me to have the cells removed and I was cleared of the most scariest thing that I thought could ever happen to me.

After which Planned Parenthood became my health safe haven.  When doctors weren’t taken Medicaid, Planned Parenthood accepted me.  For two years when I needed to have my 6 month check up to make sure the cancer stayed away I went to them.  Each year since I go to them for annual check up and know that they know my record and do everything to make sure that I am okay.

In the summer of 2016, my 10 year anniversary of being clear, there seemed to be an abnormality in my check up and with my history my practitioner with Planned Parenthood took immediate action.  It all came back clear.  And I have been able to celebrate 10 years of being cancer free.  I thank Planned Parenthood for that.  They helped me to understand what my health issues were, what goes on with my body and they also care enough to make sure that whatever you need; even someone to talk to, they were there to help you.

Every year that I have been a patient with Planned Parenthood, I have seen men and women of all ages and ethnicities.  Money was not a factor is this private area.  To think that something that is so helpful to so many people, not just women, is being targeted by someone who should care about the people is painful.

Planned Parenthood provides more than 270,000 Pap tests and more than 360,000 breast exams in a single year, critical services in detecting cancer.

Planned Parenthood

After such a remarkable, loud stance made by the men and women who came together this past Saturday across the globe for so many reasons, strongly to oppose the commentary of the new person elected. It has been stated that on January 23rd he took it upon himself to sign orders to defund International Planned Parenthood.  The Press Secretary (you know, the one who misquoted the amount of people who attended the inauguration to due “alternative facts”), stated that he “wants to stand up for all Americans, including the unborn.”

How can someone who stated that Planned Parenthood helped women “greatly” still choose to defund it because of the 3% of abortions it provides?  This is not just about abortions.  This is about the health of your nation, that you are supposed to lead.  Making certain choices are fine in your own household but there are choices that you cannot push on to others.  There is a reason that we have a freedom of choice.

Even those whom voted for him, have said they did not against Planned Parenthood.  Melody Forbes wrote in her USA Today column on January 17th, “I voted for Donald Trump…One change I didn’t want to see was access to health care at Planned Parenthood blocked,” as you read on she states, “…I went to Planned Parenthood here in Arizona in my 20s for health care.  I was newly divorced, unemployed and uninsured, and I needed health services I could not otherwise afford.”

For many of the 2.5 million people in this country go to the health care centers for essential health care.  It is not an abortion clinic, it is a health clinic.

This is one of the issues the March was about this past Saturday.  Taking away a woman’s right of choice.  What are you telling a woman who ends up pregnant because of rape?  What are you telling a teenage child who ended up pregnant because of repeatedly molestation?  These are extreme cases but who are you to tell someone that they cannot make a choice with their body.

How dare he?  Tell me mister, did you consider how many of your voters in may have used the services provided by this program?  What are you telling them?

Defunding essential care, is not about your personal choices.  That is selfish.  It is about those who around you, the people you are supposed to be “serving” go through.  But I guess that would take too much time.

